Forgotten items in the loft-Part II

Well, lightening strikes twice! Candyce found something else from my early days as a armchair modeler and as a model railroad imagineer. My notes from several trips to the East Broad Top, couple of scraps of notes on lessons learned from my last HOn3 layout, and the beginnings of some imagineerings.

The field notes taken at “Joller” on the EBT  were something I thought had been lost a decade ago. Several pages of notes and sketches from Joller before the mine reclamation folks had come through and cleaned everything up. Now if I could just find the pictures the notes refer to at some places I will be happy indeed.

My first model railroad imagineering is right behind notes on East Broad Top’s Saltillo station and track. After disassembling my HOn3 Maryland and West Virginia “U” shaped railroad back in the late ’90s, started working on a new model railroad,  the Appalachian Midland, based on favorite scenes from the Eastern Tennessee and Western North Carolina (ET&WNC) and East Broad Top. First scene I worked on was “Jefferson”, based on EBT’s Saltillo station and track layout. I had used the NARCO branch to represent a branch to an interchange with a logging line.   I was surprised to see that I suggested building  “Jefferson” as a set of modules in HOn3. Guess even then I had started to think about the need to relocate my model railroad at some point.

Flipping through some other imagineerings brought back some fond memories of past ideas and some thoughts for future projects!

This entry was posted in Misc Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

