Scrap wood is useful!

I liked the wooden center pier, so I decided to make an abutment.

Tools and materials list

Scrap 2×4

X-acto handle with a new blade

Ruler

Tools and Materials for a wood abutment. H. Mathews 2016

Tools and Materials for a wood abutment.
H. Mathews 2016

I cut my abutment on the bandsaw because I wanted it to have a slightly curved front, something unique to Northern Maryland Ry abutments.

The arced front prior to cutting. H. Mathews 2016

The arced front prior to cutting.
H. Mathews 2016

I used my bridge story stick to measure the height of the abutment taking into account the bridge tie 8x8s and the steel beams. I cut the piece off a scrap of 2×4, then cut the front on my bandsaw following the slight curve I drew.

The abutment H. Mathews 2016

The abutment
H. Mathews 2016

The next thing to do is to lay out the courses of the cut rock onto the block.

The north abutment with course lines penciled in for cutting. H. Mathew 2016

The north abutment with course lines penciled in for cutting.
H. Mathew 2016

remember to mark which way is up and where they belong!

Remember to mark your locations! H. Mathews 2016

Remember to mark your locations!
H. Mathews 2016

You are now ready to use your imagination and a sharp blade to create cut rocks on the wood.

Ready, set, and cut! H. Mathews 2016

Ready, set, and cut!
H. Mathews 2016

Scrap wood is useful!©

H. Mathews, July 2016

This entry was posted in Northern Maryland, On30. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

