Out with the New, in with the Old

Once again, it has been some time since I have last posted anything. I have been modeling though, surprise surprise. This post is more about a major change in direction of modeling. For many years, I have split my efforts, both monetary and time, between far to many model railroad projects. Certainly there are others out there with similar situations.

My interest in trains, the 12” =1 foot variety has been decidedly narrow gauge for the last oh let’s just say 45 years now. Three foot gauge, two foot gauge, and 30”/76cm gauge. I do like some standard gauge railroads, but in the end, my interest lies in narrow gauge.

My interest also is in building models, really scratchbuilding as well as kits. The ready to run/ operate items are not for me. I’ll even admit that lasercut kits are just not for me. Many modelers like laser kits and the variety that manufacturers offer is fantastic, but not for me. The structures I want to model are the ones I want to learn more about as well as see on my model railroad. Knowledge of the building, use, construction all interest me and make the process of building a structure model more interesting.

So what does this mean going forward to say? Back in December, while looking for an O scale item ( which I never found), it hit me that this is ridiculous, too much stuff and I’m not really modeling anything. The hobby just wasn’t very enjoyable at that moment. Sitting looking through various boxes brought home the realization that I have been a collector of far too much stuff and no longer the modeler that I once was many years ago now. So going forward, my decision was build something. A freight car, a structure, perhaps a layout.

My choice, based largely on having the most reliable motive power, was to start a project in S scale. I have several superbly running Sn3 DC PBL steam engines and several reworked Sn2 Forney engines to operate immediately. I have several Railmaster Export kits to assemble which I am looking forward to working on in the near future. S scale it will be, with a very small Sn2 waterfront cameo to start as well as a “ larger” Sn3 shelf layout. I have a lot of equipment that is built or ready to run for Sn3. Why both Sn2 and Sn3? I have several modeling friends in the area who model in Sn2, and it gives me a place to run and test equipment and motive power. Staying within S scale allowed me to consolidate materials etc for S Scale scratchbuilding as well as assembling various kits.

What about “Riley Station”? No, it is not going into the list of model railroads where the baseboards were started but got no further. The barn scene is a glimpse into the past that interests me, and my Proto 48 excursion will continue.

“Out with the New, in with the Old” by H. Mathews April 2024

Leave a comment